Leave a comment

Chewbacca Stories-The Vacation/Travel Conundrum


I’d like to start by saying that I haven’t posted anything in a long time, the reason being that I had forgotten my password and kept forgetting to try and retrieve it. This morning I forgot another password that I needed and when I opened my password keeper app on my blackberry, I found that I had stored my WordPress password there as well, so now I’m back.

Those who know me personally or follow me on Twitter are probably already aware that I work this guy who pretty much redefines idiocy. You are probably also aware that this guy is extremely hairy, thus earning him the nickname Chewbacca. Although I only work with him once a week, his tomfoolery is enough to give the mother of all headaches every Friday. His stupidity is so…mind boggling, that I felt I must share it, or die from being overly frustrated.

Again, those who are close friends/relatives of mine or if you follow me on Twitter, you already know that last July my dad’s family came to Canada for the first time from Portugal and England.

When the Tomés were here I had taken two weeks off from work. It had, after all, been approximately 7 years since I  last saw most of them. I had one aunt that I haven’t seen since probably 1991 or ’93, I can’t remember. At first I was going to ask for one week, considering I’ve only been working at the store since Christmas. When the owner and his wife found out why I wanted a week off, they decided that I should take two weeks instead of one.

 When I got back to work Chewbacca had asked me where I had been. I told him that I had taken two weeks off from work because my family was here on vacation. It’s hard to describe the look on his face, the best I can do is to say that he had one of those “WTF” expressions. He then said to me…

 “Um, okaaaay….but… why take two weeks off? don’t you see them? don’t they live here?”

 I said “No, they live in Portugal”

As soon as I said that, he looked at me like I was the biggest idiot there is (kind of the same way I look at him), chuckled and replied:

“So they’re not on vacation then.”

I knew that if I pressed him on further, that I would be opening a Pandora’s Box of Dumb-Ass, but I had to see where he was going with that statement.

“What do you mean?” I asked.

 “A vacation is when you take time off from work, not when you go somewhere else.”

He had a smug look on his face. That’s when my headache started. So I said

 “Ok, fine. They’re visiting” At this point I was asking myself, why I was pressing him on, knowing that I usually don’t have any patience for him.

“You visit someone who’s close by, not in another country.” He was in hysterics; I’ve never seen him laugh so hard.

“What they did is called being on travel.” He said gasping after having laughed so hard.

 I had to ask; “Don’t you mean traveling?”

“No.” He says, “Traveling is the act of getting on a plane, or on a train, or in a car, or in a bus or on a bike, to go somewhere. Once your there it’s called being on Travel”

I know I shouldn’t have….but I asked anyway “Are you sure?” And he replied

“Yes I’m sure, and I would know because I willingly and voluntarily took an extra year of high school to perfectionist my English vocabulary compared to any other personas that only did 6 years of high school”

At this point I just walked away.

What do you think?

