1 Comment

Chewbacca Stories: Fire Soup


For those of you have read my previous Chewbacca Stories, you will love this one, this one takes the cake, at the moment it is probably my favorite Chewbacca Story so far. On the other hand, if you are coming to my blog for the first time, or if you don’t follow me on Twitter, I would suggest you read my previous Chewbacca Stories so you get an idea of what my co worker Chewbacca is like. Even if you don’t read the previous stories though, I am pretty confident that you will enjoy this one.

This Friday, I went in to work. Chewbacca, as mentioned in a previous post, was placed on an on-call status, so it was not surprising that he came to work at noon. I was also not surprised to see that he was about to go for lunch five minutes after his shift started. I tried to explain to him that if anyone should go for lunch it should be me since I started at nine that morning. But he didn’t get it, so I gave up and let him go for lunch.

He went into his bag and pulled out an instant soup cup.

“These are great because they’re so easy to make.” He said.

“Good for you Chewie.” Was my reply.

And so he left to the kitchen to make his soup. I was wondering how long it would take for him to make his soup, I was getting pretty hungry myself. That’s when I smelled the smoke.

I got up and got to the kitchen as fast as I could. I walk in and it smelled like burnt pop corn. Dark grey smoke was billowing out from the microwave. Chewbacca was standing there with his shirt over his nose, wiping tears from his eyes;

“I hope it tastes better than it smells.” he said.

“WTF?” I asked.

“The soup,” He pointed at the microwave, “I hope it tastes better than it smells.”

At this point I was able to see small flames leaping out of the soup cup, I opened the microwave door, took out the soup threw it in the sink and opened the tap. The smoke got darker and the smell got worse. Now my eyes were watering and I was choking because of the smoke.

“What the hell did you do?!”

“I put my soup in the microwave, and turned it on. I didn’t know it caught fire.”

“Didn’t you smell or see the smoke?

“I thought that was the smell of the soup flavoring.”

“How did it catch fire? Did you add water before putting it in the microwave?”

 “What do you mean? Why do I have to add water?”

 Honestly, I had no answer for him.

“I’m going for lunch. Do me a favor please, don’t ever bring soup for lunch again.”

One comment on “Chewbacca Stories: Fire Soup

What do you think?

