2 Comments

CIBC Run For The Cure


   

This past Sunday was the 19th annual CIBC Run for the Cure.  It is Canada’s biggest single day initiative ran almost entirely by volunteers to raise money in the fight against breast cancer. Participants usually have a choice of running or walking the course,  one kilometer or five. Over 20 000 people came together today for The Run.
 

We woke up this morning just a tad bit earlier than we normally would on a Sunday, got ready and made our way by metro to Parc Maisonneuve in Montreal. On our way there, we met up with our good friend and reason for doing the walk.  

It was my first time participating in the Walk. Right away I noticed that they try to make it as fun and entertaining as possible. They had radio personalities pumping everybody up, live music, they had some mascots for the kids, and cheerleaders to cheer on the runners and walkers. They also had food and drinks to keep everyone full of energy. And many sponsors had booths offering different things to you could do in order for them to donate money. It was very interesting to see so many things going on at the same time. 

The whole event was inspiring, to see so many people together in one place just walking in solidarity for the same cause. Many of the participants had signs pined to the back of their shirts with the name of who they were walking for. Although I was there in support of our friend, I couldn’t help but think of my mom’s cousin who is a cancer survivor herself. 

 

I know that this isn’t much of a post and it isn’t as lengthy or humorous as most of my other posts, but I just wanted to share this with you because it was a very enjoyable activity and quite touching at times.  I can already say for sure that I will do the walk again next year in support of all women and men affected by breast cancer. 

If anyone would like to read more about the CIBC Run For The Cure, you can do so by clicking the title image or by clicking here.
 

*** 

Thanks everyone for taking the time to read my Blog. Please feel free to leave any comments in the comment section bellow. You can also email me by clicking the link in the sidebar with any question, comments or suggestions for posts that you might have.
 


2 comments on “CIBC Run For The Cure

  1. Well, don’t stop there, tell us if you met anyone with a great story and how much you raised!

    The Run for the Cure is a great fundraiser, even if the runners/walkers are tired they’re still in a great mood, everyone’s so nice to each other and the sponsors are generous. I’ve never done the run, but I volunteered there a couple of times.

    Like

    • I personally didn’t raise any money, but my friend that I walked with raised close to 500$. Didn’t realy meet anyone, I stayed pretty close to my group. You are absolutely right about everyone being in an amazing mood. It was a great atmosphere.

      Like

What do you think?

