2 Comments

My First Habs Tweetup


Now, some of you who came across this post via search engine results, Stumble Upon or any other way to come across this post at random or if you don’t have a Twitter account may not know what a Tweetup is; a Tweetup is a real life meeting or get together of people using Twitter, usually with a certain theme or common interest in mind. In our case this theme was the Habs.

I have over 100 followers on Twitter and before the Tweetup I only knew seven of my tweeps personally, two of which are directly related to me. I met a couple more of them during the Habs Tweetup and I am glad to say that I have actually met a few more of my followers.

I only started using Twitter in April and it took me a while to start getting followers or to actually start following people other than my sister @KPTOME. So when they had their first tweetup last March I hadn’t heard about it, didn’t know what it was, I didn’t even know these things existed.

I still remember the first time I heard of the tweetup concept. I had subscribed to @chile_pepper’s blog and her post Love Letter to Twitter Friends linked to a contribution she did on allhabs.net describing her experience at the Habs Tweetup.

“…I am a Habs fan of the only variety of Habs fan there is: die-hard. Have been since I can remember. Many of you know me on Twitter as @chile_pepper and about 50 of you I’ve MET/met, for real. And it was all thanks to a magical event known as a Habs Tweetup.”

Upon reading this I really thought it was a cool concept and hoped that I would one day attend a Habs Tweetup. You can read the full story about her experience at the Tweetup by clicking here.

As soon as I heard there would be a Habs Tweeup I was excited and knew right away I was going to attend, the very first chance I got I sent my RSVP.

I finally went to my first Tweetup Saturday, October 9th when the Montreal Canadiens played their second game of the season against the Pittsburgh Penguins.

I was glad that I was going to be able to meet a lot of my Tweeps and even some members of my Habs BBM group like @FlirtyJo, @SophK78 and the one and only @All_Habs. I try to keep up with as many of my Tweeps as possible and having these three in my BBM group made it so much easier. I got to admit that when I did meet @FlirtyJo and @SophK78, I wasn’t surprised at all, they were exactly as I imagined them, fun to hang out with and very welcoming. They made me feel comfortable at the Tweetup because apart from them the only person I knew at the Tweetup was my sister. It was great that we hit it off right away and were able to have a conversation (when not distracted by the Habs on RDS) as if we had already met before.

It was also fun to meet other writers whose blogs or websites I visit quite often. People like @kyleroussel of Cowhide & Rubber and also Rookie of Hab it Her Way, and although she wasn’t there in person I can’t forget to mention @chile_pepper who I saw via Skype.

Another aspect that felt nice is the fact @All_Habs, @FlyersRule and @HabsLaughs all knew who I was before I got to introduce myself. It’s probably because of my Twitter avatar but it makes you feel right at home to be greeted so warmly by your name from someone who you know but have never met before.  They knew who I was without even looking at the back of the Habs tshirt I asked @KPTOME to make me for the occasion.

All in all it was a great experience, the food was great, the Habs played a good game and won against Crosby and the Penguins and I was surrounded by some of the best Habs fans I have ever met. I can already tell you for sure that I will be at the next Habs tweetup held in Montreal.

***

Click here for information on the Next Habs Tweetup in your area and how you can RSVP

Thanks everyone for taking the time to read my Blog. Please feel free to leave any comments in the comment section bellow. You can also email me by clicking the link in the sidebar with any question, comments or suggestions for posts that you might have. You can also follow me on Twitter.

2 comments on “My First Habs Tweetup

  1. It was nice meeting you, Robert! The only problem with these things is that you rarely get to spend as much time as you’d like with everyone. I got around to speaking with some folks who I had not previously spent time with, so I’ll have to make sure to hang out with you next time!

    I still say you have one of the best looking sites out there! ; )

    Like

  2. I look forward to meeting you at the next tweetup, I had a good time. Thanks for being such a fan of my blog’s color palette LOL

    Like

What do you think?

