4 Comments

Bell’s Montreal Canadiens Smart Phone App, a Rant.


When I first heard about Bell launching an official Canadians app, I have to admit that I was a bit skeptical at first; I assumed that it would only available to Bell customers. The day of the launch, original reports and articles posted all over the net seemed to confirm my suspicions.

Shortly thereafter it was made known to the public that these original reports were wrong, the app would be available to Habs fans with all carriers and on all three platforms (Blackberry, iOS and Android). Almost immediately upon hearing this news I decided I needed that app (being a true hard-core Habs fan). I planned on downloading it, testing it out during the Canadiens vs. Lightning game, and then write a review about it. Turns out the dang thing isn’t available on my Curve 8520, so the nature of this post has since changed. Instead of being a review it will now be a rant.

First of all, Bell announced since the beginning that it would be available on all three platforms. When you get to the site, they have supplied us Fans with three OTA download links depending on the platform we use. Blackberry and Android are there, but very limited to which phones you can download the App on. When I saw that my Curve wasn’t there, I figured it was no big deal, I can get one of my buddies to download it on his iPhone and I’ll test it with his iPhone. I was wrong. Turns out iPhone users have to wait until the end of the month.

As some of you already know, I am a dedicated member of Team Blackberry, and therefore shouldn’t care that it’s not available on the iPhone yet. But the way I see it, Team iPhone does count for a large part of the wireless market and I can only assume a large portion of Habs Fans are iPhone users. So Bell, you missed the boat on that one, you left many Habs Fans hanging.

Second, it what universe does it make sense to make an app available to only three Blackberry models (Bold 9700, 9000 and Curve 3G). For some reason it’s not available to the new Torch that they are really pushing as of late, but it is available for the Bold 9000 which I don’t think any company carries now(I might be wrong but I know for sure that Roger’s and Bell don’t). I just bought my Blackberry a couple of months ago, so even if I wanted to get a new model just to be able to get the Habs app I can’t, it will cost me an arm and a leg.

My last point is that the app seems to have been a flop, I can’t be certain because I don’t have it. But it seems to be the general consensus among those that I know were able to get it and tried it out last night. From what I hear, it never updated the score after the first goal, alerts that the people had set up were nonexistent and there were a plethora of other problems. Heck, they came out with a 2.0 version the very same day! That’s not a good sign in my books.

I guess in a way I’m glad I didn’t get it yet, I would’ve been uber annoyed at the app’s shortcomings. I’ll wait a bit, maybe at the end of the month when they launch the iPhone version it will also be available to more Blackberry users. At the same time they should work out all bugs and kinks, if any.

Like I said, I don’t really know how it performs because I don’t have it. If you do or know anyone who has tested the app, please send some feedback my way.

Also, If any of you are lucky enough to have the supported phones and want to download the app, just head on over to bell.ca/canadiens on your smart phone’s browser, then come back here to tell me what you think of it.

***

Thanks everyone for taking the time to read my Blog. Please rate this post and share it with others. Feel free to leave any comments in the comment section bellow. You can also email me by clicking the link in the sidebar with any question, comments or suggestions for posts that you might have. You can also follow me on Twitter.

4 comments on “Bell’s Montreal Canadiens Smart Phone App, a Rant.

  1. It isn’t available for my Milestone, either. It seems as though Bell has only made it available on phones that they sell. On one (selfish) level, it makes sense and we shouldn’t be surprised. On the other, it’s a horribly protectionist idea.

    Like

  2. I agree 100%. I’m really frustrated with Bell.
    I can’t get this app on my Android HTC Desire with Telus :( and I’m a die-hard Habs fan too, so it really sucks! It only works with 2 android phones. And they are marketing this as if its available to everyone. Bell is SO EVIL
    I would even PAY for this app (like $5 or whatever) if it was actually available.

    Like

    • Can’t the whole thing be considered false advertisement? I mean to say it’s available to all fans and then we find out that in reality its only for phones that Bell carries. I mean sure, other companies have some of those models, but what about all the other phones? I really hope the expand on phone compatibility or else it would be such a loss for everyone else. I would also pay for it if it meant getting it on my Curve 8520. Thanks for taking the time to read my post and for commenting.

      Like

What do you think?

