1 Comment

Chewbacca Stories: I’m Just a Kid.


So yesterday I worked with Chewbacca. If you’ve read my posts before, you already know that he did something stupid and that I’m going to share it with you. If you haven’t read my Chewbacca posts before, enjoy.

 

Yesterday was a pretty busy day at work, and we got a call from a customer at around noon to say that his TV was defective, right away I had a feeling something was going to go wrong at one point.

Our store’s policy is pretty straight forward when it comes to defective TVs. If you still have the original packaging, we’ll exchange it. It’s simple enough no?

So my manager (who we’ll refer to as “W”) gets off the phone and tells me to prepare a 55 inch SONY. The customer’s was defective and he was going to come and exchange it. W also told me that he was going to have to leave early for a doctor’s appointment, and that I would be in charge for the afternoon.

Things were getting pretty busy after W left. Stock was going in and out constantly. We also had to prepare deliveries for the next day which included a SONY TV similar to the one the customer was coming to exchange (same size, but different model). Anyway, I was running out of room and decided to put that TV at the loading dock until tomorrow.

About an hour later the cashier paged me to let me know that the customer was at the dock waiting. I was really busy at this point preparing orders that had to go out with UPS and FedEx. So I sent Chewbacca, big mistake.

He came back down with the defective TV and I asked him if he already did the exchange.

“You switched it with the customer already?”

“Yeah, it’s a pretty good deal if you ask me, most stores won’t do that.”

“What? Exchange a defective product?”

“Well there’s that too. But we even give this guy a second TV as an apology.”

“What do you mean?”

“Wasn’t I supposed to give him both SONYs?”

“NO! What the F made you think that?”

“You told me to go upstairs, that the customer was going to give me a SONY TV and that I had to give him SONY back.”

“I never said give him two SONYs!”

“Well Rob, I’m just a kid after all, you have to be more specific. You should’ve said “Give him the one on the four-wheeler but not the one next to the door.” How was I supposed to know it wasn’t for him?”

“How many freaking times do I tell you to ask to see the customer’s invoice before giving them anything? It’s the F-ing second time you give stuff to a customer that they haven’t paid for!”

“Like I said Rob, be SPE-CI-FIC! You didn’t tell me today to ask for the invoice, so I dint think I had to. I don’t understand why the client say anything if it wasn’t for him”

“Would you have?”

“No, but I’m not that smart.”

Now that line dumfounded me, I don’t know what he was trying to say…I didn’t even bother arguing anymore, I just called my manager so he can try and fix the problem.

At the end of the day, we got the TV back and I had a major head-ache.

Chewbacca still doesn’t know why we were pissed and thinks the customer owes him an apology.

In case you were wondering; Chewbacca claims to be “just a kid” that we have to be specific with…he just turned 20.

***

Thanks everyone for taking the time to read my Blog. Please rate this post and share it with others. Feel free to leave any comments in the comment section bellow. You can email me by clicking the link in the sidebar with any question, comments or suggestions for posts that you might have. You can also follow me on Twitter.

One comment on “Chewbacca Stories: I’m Just a Kid.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Robert Pereira-Tomé, Robert Pereira-Tomé. Robert Pereira-Tomé said: Chewbacca Stories: I’m Just a Kid.: http://wp.me/pZboA-4Y […]

    Like

What do you think?

