1 Comment

Habs Hot or Cold: October 2011



Wow, what a godawful start to the season that was. In all honesty this was probably the hardest Hot or Cold post I’ve had to write thus far. It was hard to write because let’s face it, the Habs played like shit for most of the month until that game last week against the Philadelphia Flyers. They played so bad I didn’t even want to rate any of them this month. But seeing as this blog can be a means of getting things off my chest, I decided to rate them.

Hal Gill: COLD

Gill played in all eleven games through the month of October earning a single assist. Conventional reporters were far too eager to place part of the blame for the Canadiens’ funk on the young defencemen like Raphael Diaz and Alexei Emelin. What the failed to notice was that Hal Gill had a plus-minus rating of -3. Tied with P.K. Subban for the worst among defencemen. Is it just me or does Skillsy seem to be slower than last year? What happenned to the d-man that was so reliable last year?

Scott Gomez: COLD

As some of you may recall, I wrote about Gomez in my last Hot or Cold post. I mentioned that he had improved tremendously. Well, it seems like I was wrong. Gomez really pulled the wool over my eyes in the preseason. He was looking great and producing points. Now he just looks great when he skates. Then he veers to the left and loses the puck. I am officially taking back the HOT rating I gave him last month. He doesnt deserve it anymore. Gomez finished the month with 1 goal and a -1 rating. But here’s the part that gets me going, with Scotty in the lineup, the Habs have a losing record of 1-4-1. Since he has sidelined with an upper body injury, the Habs have a great 3-1-1 record. Food for thought? I think so.

Max Pacioretty: HOT

Since the preseason Pacioretty has not ceased to impress me. The passion with which he plays is impressive. He came back from a nearly deadly injury to be an even better and stronger player then he was before. He has become the power forward the Habs have been missing for too long. After injuring his wrist against the Florida Panthers, many people thought he would be out a week or two. Instead Pacioretty kept playing. He ended the month with 4 goals and 5 assists for a total of 9 points (4-5-9) and +2 rating. He is tied for points leader among the Habs with Tomas Plekanec who also happens to have 4 goals and  assists.

Jacques Martin: COLD

This is a Habs Hot or Cold first. I have never rated anyone but the players in these posts. How many of you could’ve predicted that I would give Martin a COLD rating? How could I not? There is obviously something wrong with the coach. When you have the players that Montreal has, you shouldn’t start the season the way they did. To top it off, the team hasn’t changed much since lst season and they didn’t have a such a bad start last year. I know they won their last three games, let’s just wait and see if they can keep it up. But for now, Jacques Martin has earned a failing grade.

Thanks for reading everyone, I really hope that Habs have a better month in November, so that I give HOT ratings to more players. So, what are your thoughts on these players?

One comment on “Habs Hot or Cold: October 2011

  1. This is a great post dude. You deserve more attention for your writting, I will deffs share this with my friends. Go Habs Go!

    Like

What do you think?

