4 Comments

Tattoos; Why I Like Them & Why I Get Them


Tattoos. Some people consider them a beautiful work of art and others consider see them as a warning to stay away.

There are so many different kinds of people in society getting ink done nowadays. It’s become almost ubiquitous, hardly considered taboo anymore. Yet there are still some people out there that see it as something that only the “bad people” get.

I find it hard to comprehend how still today people look at someone who is tattooed, heavily or not, and still have that prejudice that he/she is someone to be avoided or that said person has had a bad upbringing.

Of course it can be said that I have a biased opinion when you take into consideration that I have five tattoos and plan on getting more ink done.

But that’s what pretty much led to my writing of this post. I’ve gotten many reactions to my tattoos ranging from: “Oh hey, that’s nice. Where did you get it done? I was considering getting one.” to “You have tattoos? How much time did you spend in jail?”

Now I may be wrong, but I have noticed a trend though, it is usually the older generations who see tattooing as a sign of trouble. Whereas the younger generations seem to be more open to the idea of getting inked.

Why there is such a generational divide between people who accept tattoos and those who don’t, I cant explain but I suspect it has a lot to do with the number of people getting tattooed nowadays compared to back then. Especially those who are constantly in the public eye and get tattooed.

More and more celebrities and athletes are getting tattooed and some of them are persons that younger generations look to as a role model.

Personally I see tattoos as a means of expression. A way to express yourself artistically. I way to explain who you are through art with a minimal use of words. Although sometimes words can be used as well.

I always said that if you are considering getting a tattoo then you are not ready because when you are ready to get one, you don’t “consider” it, you know you want it. But if you are ready to get one done, please think about it and carefully decide what you want. It’s stuck with you for life. It actually annoys me when I ask someone why they got a certain tattoo and they respond “Cuz I thought it would be cool.”

Like I said, I feel tattoos should be a way to express yourself. For example in the picture at the top of this post you’ll see two of my tattoos. One of them is a tribal scorpion because my zodiac sign is scorpion. The other one is two hearts with the words “mom” & “dad” in portuguese. Obviously I’m very fond of my parents and that’s why I got that one done.

The one on the right isn’t an actual word. Its more of a portuguese slang used on the island of Madeira, Portugal to talk about people from my father’s village. It isn’t usually used in a flattering manner, mostly condescending. But, I am proud of my roots and where my parents are from so I proudly wear the label of “Rabichado” on my wrist.

Those are just a few examples, but I’m sure you get the idea. You can learn more about me by looking at my tattoos, and that’s the way it should be in my opinion.

I’m not a bad person, I’m just trying to express myself.

What’s your opinion about tattoos and tattooed people?

4 comments on “Tattoos; Why I Like Them & Why I Get Them

  1. Personally, I love tattoos…. I wish i could get more done but because of my job and how the corporate world looks at tattoos i have to stop myself from getting what i really want. This doesnt mean i dont have one. Its unfortunate that our society has not become more accepting towards things that used to be “taboo”.
    The thing that does not sit well with me that the fact that people think that tattoos need to have a meaning behind it or it has to have some kind of symbolic moral ethical link with it . I got one for the sake of getting one. there is no hidden meaning nor any sentimental link.

    anyways i dont wanna type anymore

    Like

    • You can get tattooed for any reason, but personally I find it difficult to comprehend what kind of tattoo you can get that will stick with you your whole life but doesn’t mean anything and not regret it eventually. Thanks for reading and sharing your opinion.

      Like

  2. I enjoyed this post very much. Thanks for sending it my way. Adios. CC

    Like

What do you think?

