Leave a comment

Quest For The Best Burger: Smoky Jack’s Burger


Back in 2008 I was watching How I Met Your Mother when they aired the episode called The Best Burger In New York.

I remember Marshall’s speech about what he thought was the best burger in the world:

Just a Burger? Robin, it’s so much more than “just a burger.” I mean… that first bite-oh, what heaven that first bite is. The bun, like a sesame freckled breast of an angel, resting gently on the ketchup and mustard below, flavors mingling in a seductive pas de deux. And then… a pickle! The most playful little pickle! Then a slice of tomato, a leaf of lettuce and a… a patty of ground beef so exquisite, swirling in your mouth, breaking apart, and combining again in a fugue of sweets and savor so delightful. This is no mere sandwich of grilled meat and toasted bread, Robin. This is God, speaking to us in food.

It was probably this quote that inspired me to begin a quest of my own. A quest to find the best burger.

My latest burger came from Jack Astor’s on Front street near the St. Lawrence Market in Toronto, Ontario.

I had the Smoky Jack’s Burger. It did not disappoint, tasting even better than it looks.

There was of course the regular condiments that come on a good burger. You know; lettuce red onion and such.

Topped with thick mozeralla cheese, mouthwatering bacon and onion rings. All of which are smoked. Hence the name. The whole is then heaped onto an exquisitely delicious onion bun.

As soon as you take the first bite all the ingredients come together in an orgy of flavors so good and intense, that I can only describe that moment as a burgasm.

The burger was amazing. It was damn good. Good enough to rank second on my list.

If you’re ever looking for a good burger and happen to be near a Jack Astor’s, give this one a try and let me know what you think.

The List:

1

The S.O.B. Burger Hard Rock Café

2

Smoky Jack’s Burger Jack Astor’s

3

Mister Cheeseburger Mr. Steer

4

The Blitz Burger Cage Aux Sports

5

 Capicollo Burger  Dilallo Burger

What about you? What’s the best burger you’ve ever had? Is it on my list? Do you have any place for me to try? Let me know in the comment section bellow. Or on Twitter, Facebook or Google+.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Related Posts

What do you think?

