Leave a comment

New Tattoo: Electric Ground Symbol


This past August 20th I graduated from my electricity program at the Pearson Electrotechnology Centre in Lachine, Quebec. For many of you who already follow me on Twitter or know me personally, this shouldn’t come as news since I pretty much announced everywhere.

I only bring this is up because it was the reasoning behind my latest tattoo. I wanted to get something to commemorate my accomplishment. It was my first time completing a post secondary studies program because I didn’t finish my college degree.

Needless to say I was very proud of this accomplishment. I took  most of the 16 month course to decide on what I would get and where on my body.

I finally decided on the ground symbol.In mains, powered equipment or components, exposed metal parts are connected to ground and eventually bonded to a ground rod to prevent contact with dangerous voltage if electrical insulation fails or in the case of a short. Connections to ground limit the build-up of static electricity when handling flammable products or electrostatic-sensitive devices. In other words, circuits need to be grounded as a precaution to limit or prevent both minor and fatal injuries.

The placement was logical to me. I work with my hands, so by placing it on my hand I will always remember the proper wiring procedure GNL (Ground, Neutral, Live). It will also remind me to verify that a previous installation is grounded if I’m doing maintenance.

It can have a second meaning as well. This tattoo can also act as a constant reminder that I myself should remain grounded.

By that I mean that no matter how much I accomplish, I will not let it get to my head, I wont let myself become an asshole. Most of all, I will always remember that hard work pays off and that I should be as supportive to my family as they were for me when I decided to go back to school.

Related Posts:

Tattoos; Why I Like Them & Why I Get Them

What do you think?

