Leave a comment

Quest For The Best Burger: Five Guys Bacon Cheeseburger


Back in 2008 I was watching How I Met Your Mother when they aired the episode called The Best Burger In New York.

I remember Marshall’s speech about what he thought was the best burger in the world:

Just a Burger? Robin, it’s so much more than “just a burger.” I mean… that first bite-oh, what heaven that first bite is. The bun, like a sesame freckled breast of an angel, resting gently on the ketchup and mustard below, flavors mingling in a seductive pas de deux. And then… a pickle! The most playful little pickle! Then a slice of tomato, a leaf of lettuce and a… a patty of ground beef so exquisite, swirling in your mouth, breaking apart, and combining again in a fugue of sweets and savor so delightful. This is no mere sandwich of grilled meat and toasted bread, Robin. This is God, speaking to us in food.

It was probably this quote that inspired me to begin a quest of my own. A quest to find the best burger.

My latest burger came from Five Guys on McGill street just a few blocks away from métro Square Victoria in Montreal. It was a glorious mess of deliciousness.

Before choosing Five Guys I had asked my followers on Twitter for burgers to try. I decided to try the first suggestion which came from an old highschool friend of mine; @Psycing. I knew I could trust his judgement, he is one of the coolest guys I know.

As per Matt’s suggestion, I had the bacon cheeseburger. I was in the middle of a conversation with my fiancé when I took the first bite. As soon as I bit into it I shut up. She stopped talking as well and gazed at me with a little smirk on her face, she knew right away that I was having a burgasm.

The meat patty was amazing and juicy. I had ordered it medium rare and it was very flavourful and tender and moist and my god what a good patty.

You can go wrong with the condiments either because you choose your own. They have a wide range of condiments, you can literally make thousands of different burgers.

I chose to have lettuce, raw onions, grilled mushrooms, pickles, tomato, mustard mayonnaise and hot sauce.

The burger so good it took me a while to decide how high it would rank on my list. In the end I decided it was amazing but not as good as the S.O.B. so im ranking it second.

If you’re ever looking for a good burger and happen to be near a Five Guys, give this one a try, and let me know what you think.

The List:

1

The S.O.B. Burger

Hard Rock Café (New York, New York, USA)

2

Bacon Cheeseburger

Five Guys (Montreal, Quebec, Canada)

3

Smoky Jack’s Burger

Jack Astor’s (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)

4

Mister Cheeseburger

Mr. Steer (Montreal, Quebec, Canada)

5

The Blitz Burger

Cage Aux Sports (Montreal, Quebec, Canada)

6

Capicollo Burger

Dilallo Burger (Ville Émard, Quebec, Canada)

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.What about you? What’s the best burger you’ve ever had? Is it on my list? Do you have any new places or burgers for me to try? Let me know in the comment section bellow. Or on Twitter, Facebook or Google+.

Related Posts

What do you think?

