Leave a comment

The New Job.


Man has it been a long time since my last post.

Aside from the NHL lockout not providing any inspiration to write, ive been kept really busy with my new job.

Like I told you in my last post, I graduated from my electricity program last August. It took a few weeks to get a job but I found one in October.

The CCQ requires me to complete the first 150 hours of my 8000 hour apprenticeship with the same company. Afterwards I can choose to stay with the company or move on.

So far I am loving my new job and don’t see any reason whatsoever to leave and find a different company to continue my apprenticeship with.

When I was looking for an apprenticeship, my first option was to do maintenance electricity in hospitals. Eventually I decided against that because it won’t get me the license required to start my own business. I decided to find something in residential electricity because that’s what I prefer and after four years I will earn the correct license to be an entrepreneur.

With a little help from my family and lots of patience I eventually found something better than I was hoping for.

The company I work for does both maintenance and new installations in all three major fields of electricity; residential, commercial & industrial.

I’ll be getting so much experience and learning so much more than what I had hoped. I’m constantly learning new and interesting things, many of which we didn’t even discuss in school.

The best part about my new job is that I am loving every minute of every contract we pick up. I’m doing something new every day and I couldn’t ask for a better job to have at the moment.

What do you think?

