Leave a comment

New Vinyls: AC/DC, The Beatles & The Who

1374604743This past weekend we ended up in downtown Montreal, The Wife suggested that we head over to Cheap Thrills on Metcalfe since I had never been there.

I had a blast there and was in awe that I hadn’t heard of it until now.

The spot itself is just awesome. From its slanted staircase to the overflowing wall to wall selection of used books and vinyls.
You can find all genres of music in both the new and used vinyl sections. They even take orders for new vinyls.

Once again, I was elated to find an AC/DC album. Let There Be Rock is full of raw energy rock including one of my all-time favorite guitar solos from Angus Young in Whole Lotta Rosie. It was an automatic purchase for me simply because it is AC/DC.

Then I found The Beatles double compilation album 1967-1970. I couldn’t pass up on this one for two reasons; a) I already had the first double compilation album, might as well pick up the second one; and b) there were two many kick-ass songs, how could anyone not buy this album?

The Wife stumbled across The Who’s double compilation album Hooligans. With songs like Pinball Wizard, Baba O’Riley and Who Are You, there was no way we were leaving without it.

I’m glad I was finally able to go to Cheap Thrills and without a doubt I will be going back for more vinyls.
AC/DC: Let There Be Rock:

Side 1

Side 2

  1. Go Down
  2. Dog Eat Dog
  3. Let There Be Rock
  4. Bad Boy Boogie
  1. Problem Child
  2. Overdose
  3. Hell Ain’t A Bad Place To Be
  4. Whole Lotta Rosie

The Beatles: 1967-1970:

 Side 1

 Side 2

  1. Strawberry Fields Forever
  2. Penny Lane
  3. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band
  4. With A Little Help From My Friends
  5. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds
  6. A Day In The Life
  7. All You Need Is Love
  1. I Am The Walrus
  2. Hello Goodbye
  3. The Fool On The Hill
  4. Magical Mystery Tour
  5. Lady Madonna
  6. Hey Jude
  7. Revolution

 Side 3

 Side 4

  1. Back In The U.S.S.R.
  2. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  3. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
  4. Get Back
  5. Don’t Let Me Down
  6. The Ballad Of John & Yoko
  7. Old Brown Shoe
  1. Here Comes The Sun
  2. Come Together
  3. Something
  4. Octopus’s Garden
  5. Let It Be
  6. Across The Universe
  7. The Long and Winding Road

The Who: Hooligans:

 Side 1

 Side 2

  1. I Can’t Explain
  2. I Can See For Miles
  3. Pinball Wizard
  4. Let’s See Action
  5. Summertime Blues
  6. Relay
  1. Join Together
  2. Squeeze Box
  3. Slip Kid
  4. The Real Me
  5. 5.15

 Side 3

 Side 4

  1. Baba O’Riley
  2. Behind Blue Eyes
  3. Bargain
  4. The Song Is Over
  1. Drowned
  2. Had Enough
  3. Sister Disco
  4. Who Are You

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: